University of Zurich Ethics Commission


The University of Zurich Ethics Commission was set up in accordance with § 66 of the University Code of Conduct on 19th May 2000. Following a decree by the University Management, its purpose is to “support members of the University in their perception of ethical responsibility in research and teaching“, to “promote ethical awareness within the University” and to “represent ethical issues to the public at large". The Ethics Commission comprises 7 faculty representatives, 3 representatives from the member institutes of the Centre for Ethics, 2 university lecturers, 2 research assistants and 3 students.

Current members of the Ethics Commission

One of the chief tasks of the Commission is to provide assistance with the “development of curricula and the integration of ethical issues in teaching”. For this it can allocate 8 lecture course hours per year, i.e. 4 per semester. Allocation is dependent upon the faculties matching each lecture course hour given by the Commission with 1 lecture course hour from their own resources, so that in each case a 2-hour lecture results. The faculties are warmly invited by the Commission to submit regular applications for innovative courses within an ethical context. The range of lectures should include topics which inspire student interest in the ethical aspects of their own degree courses, promoting a critical analysis of the same.

Deadline for submitting applications for the fall semester:  December 1, in the previous year. Deadline for submitting applications for the spring semester: May 20 in the previous year.


Lecture course application form (PDF, 150 KB)


In addition, the Commission is also a place where controversial questions concerning the ethos of the University or problematic developments within individual disciplines can be discussed. It is able to conduct seminars or other events to this end with financial support from the University management. It will provide information about upcoming events in good time. The Commission is happy to accept any information, pointers or suggestions for an open discourse in this vein. One of its primary competences is the support of ethical culture within the University, but not the ethical control or sanctioning of academics or institutes. The University Ethics Commission is also not responsible for evaluating research projects.

Research projects in the ‘human and non-human field’ will be evaluated and approved by the Cantonal ethics commissions.

Zurich Cantonal Ethics Commission

Events of the University of Zurich Ethics Commission

Ethik-Kommission der Universität Zürich

Aufgaben

Mit dem § 66 der Universitätsordnung wurde am 19. Mai 2000 die Ethik-Kommission der Universität Zürich ins Leben gerufen. Ihr Zweck ist laut Beschluss der Univer-sitätsleitung "die Unterstützung der Angehörigen der Universität bei der Wahrnehmung von ethischer Verantwortung in Forschung und Lehre", "die Förderung der ethischen Bewusstseinsbildung innerhalb der universitären Öffentlichkeit" sowie "die Vertretung ethischer Sachanliegen gegenüber der ausseruniversitären Öffentlichkeit". Die Ethik-Kommission setzt sich zusammen aus 5 Leitende des Ethik-Zentrums ex officio, 7 Fakultätsvertretern/-innen,  2 Vertreter Privatdozenten/-innen, 2 Vertreter Assistierende und 3 Vertreter Studierende und 2 Vertreter des administrativ-technischen Personals. Ein Gremium, bestehend aus dem Vorsitzenden und den vier Leitenden des Ethik-Zentrums, übernimmt die Gesamtleitung der Ethik-Kommission. Der/Die Vorsitzende ist für den prozeduralen Ablauf verantwortlich.

Aktuelle Besetzung der Ethik-Kommission

Eine der vorrangigen Aufgaben der Kommission ist es, Hilfestellung zu bieten für die "Entwicklung von curricula und die Integration ethischer Problemstellungen in die Lehre". Dazu kann sie im Jahr 8 Lehrauftragsstunden vergeben, also im Schnitt pro Semester 4. Die Vergabe ist an die Bedingung geknüpft, dass die Fakultäten zu jeder von der Kommission vergebenen Lehrauftragsstunde aus eigenen Mitteln 1 Lehrauf-tragsstunde hinzugeben, so dass jeweils ein zweistündiger Lehrauftrag zustande kommt. Die Fakultäten sind von der Kommission herzlich eingeladen, regelmässig Anträge zugunsten innovativer Lehrveranstaltungen mit ethischer Relevanz zu stellen. Das Lehrauftragsangebot sollte Veranstaltungen umfassen, die bei den Studierenden das Interesse an den ethischen Aspekten des eigenen Studienfachs wecken und eine kritische Auseinandersetzung fördern.

Gesuche für Lehraufträge im Herbstsemester müssen bis zum 1. Dezember des vorhergehenden Jahres eingereicht werden, Gesuche für Lehraufträge im Frühlingssemester bis zum 20. Mai des vorhergehenden Jahres.

 

Lehrauftragsgesuch (PDF, 96 KB)

 

Darüber hinaus ist die Kommission auch ein Ort, an dem kontroverse Fragen des Ethos der Universität und problematische Entwicklungen in einzelnen Wissenschaften diskutiert werden können. Sie kann mit finanzieller Unterstützung der Universitätsleitung zu diesem Zweck Veranstaltungen durchführen. Über aktuell vorgesehene Veranstaltungen informiert sie rechtzeitig. Informationen, Hinweise und Vorschläge zu einem in diesem Sinn öffentlichen Diskurs nimmt die Kommission gerne entgegen. Zu ihren Kompetenzen gehört vorrangig die Unterstützung der binnenethischen Kultur der Universität, hingegen nicht die ethische Kontrolle oder Sanktion von Wissenschaftlern oder Instituten. Ebenfalls ist die universitäre Ethik-Kommission nicht zuständig für die Beurteilung von Forschungsprojekten; siehe dazu

Ethik in der Forschung

Forschungsvorhaben im 'humanen und ausserhumanen Bereich' werden von den Kantonalen Ethik-Kommissionen geprüft und bewilligt.

Kantonale Ethik-Kommission Zürich

Veranstaltungen der Ethik-Kommission