Centre for Ethics

 

Advanced Studies in Applied Ethics

Home

University Research Priority Program for Ethics

HomeGraduate Program

 no rss

About the Centre for Ethics

The Centre for Ethics at the University of Zurich is a multi-faculty initiative which is unique in Switzerland. The Chairs in Ethics within the Faculties of Theology, Philosophy and Medicine are at the heart of the Centre, which was founded in 1995. They are organised within the Institute for Social Ethics (Faculty of Theology), the Ethics Research Institute (Faculty of Philosophy) and the Institute for Biomedical Ethics (Faculty of Medicine). More than 50 scientific members of staff are currently working in this environment, which boasts a good international network.

The Centre for Ethics is the first institution of its kind in Switzerland. At the University of Zurich it is responsible for conducting and coordinating ethics teaching and research. Its most successful projects include the University Research Program for Ethics and the Postgraduate Program Advanced Studies in Applied Ethics. Numerous research projects, workshops and publications have made an impact far beyond national boundaries.

Research and teaching at the Centre for Ethics are concerned, on the one hand, with basic reflection on issues of moral philosophy and theological ethics and, on the other hand, with current issues in applied ethics. In the area of applied ethics, research focuses on biomedical, political and environmental ethics. The most important cross-section themes are justice and human dignity. This interplay between basic reflection and applied ethics from the perspective of different disciplines is one of the specific competences of the Centre for Ethics.

The ethicists from the Faculties of Theology and Philosophy work at the address Zollikerstrasse 117, while those from the Faculty of Medicine work in the city centre, near the university hospital, at the address Pestalozzistrasse 24.

Villa Abegg: Ethik-Zentrum

Villa Abegg:                     AFE, ISE und UFSP Ethik

Kutscher

Pestalozzistrasse 24:              IBME                                        

History and organisation of the Centre for Ethics

The Centre for Ethics unites the Institute for Social Ethics (Faculty of Theology), the Ethics Research Institute (Faculty of Philosophy) and the Institute for Biomedical Ethics (Faculty of Medicine). The Institute for Social Ethics was founded by Arthur Rich in October 1964. The Ethics Research Institute came into being in 1989. It owes its existence to an appropriated donation by the Arnold Corti Stamm Foundation. The Institute for Biomedical Ethics was founded in 2006. Further information about ethics in research and teaching can be found on the websites of the different institutions working together at  the Centre for Ethics.

Ethik-Zentrum

 

Über das Ethik-Zentrum

Das Ethik-Zentrum der Universität Zürich (EZEN) ist eine in der Schweiz einzigartige Initiative verschiedener Fakultäten. Die Ethiklehrstühle der theologischen, philosophischen und medizinischen Fakultät bilden den Kern des 1995 gegründeten Zentrums. Sie sind im Institut für Sozialethik (Theologische Fakultät), der Abteilung Arbeits- und Forschungsstelle für Ethikdes Philosophischen Seminars (Philosophische Fakultät) und des Instituts für Biomedizinische Ethik (Medizinische Fakultät) organisiert. Gegenwärtig arbeiten über 50 wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter/innen in einem international gut vernetzten Umfeld.

Das Ethik-Zentrum in Zürich ist das erste seiner Art in der Schweiz. Es betreibt und koordiniert an der Universität Zürich die Lehre und Forschung in der Ethik. Zu seinen erfolgreichsten Projekten gehören der Universitäre Forschungsschwerpunkt Ethik sowie die Nachdiplomstudiengänge Advanced Studies in Applied Ethics. Zahlreiche Forschungsprojekte, Workshops und Publikationen haben eine Ausstrahlung weit über die Landesgrenzen hinaus.

Die Mitarbeitenden des Ethik-Zentrums sind in Forschung und Lehre einerseits mit Grundlagenreflexion zu Fragen der Moralphilosophie und der theologischen Ethik sowie mit aktuellen Fragen der angewandten Ethik beschäftigt. Im Bereich der angewandten Ethik liegen die Schwerpunkte der Forschung in der biomedizinischen, der politischen sowie der Umweltethik. Fragen der Gerechtigkeit und Menschenwürde bilden die wichtigsten Querschnittsthemen. Das Zusammenspiel von Grundlagenre-flexion und angewandter Ethik aus der Perspektive verschiedener Disziplinen gehört zu den spezifischen Kompetenzen des Ethik-Zentrums.

Die Ethiker und Ethikerinnen der Theologischen und Philosophischen Fakultät arbeiten an der Zollikerstrasse 117, diejenigen der Medizinischen Fakultät, im Stadtzentrum, in der Nähe des Universitätsspitals, an der Pestalozzistrasse 24.

Villa Abegg: Ethik-Zentrum

Villa Abegg:                     AFE, ISE und UFSP Ethik

Kutscher

Pestalozzistrasse 24:              IBME                                        

Geschichte und Organisation des Ethik-Zentrums

Im Ethik-Zentrum sind das Institut für Sozialethik (Theologische Fakultät), die Arbeits- und Forschungsstelle für Ethik (Philosophisches Seminar) und das Institut für Biomedizinische Ethik (Medizinische Fakultät) vereinigt. Das Institut für Sozialethik wurde im Oktober 1964 von Arthur Rich gegründet. Die Arbeits- und Forschungsstelle für Ethik besteht seit 1989. Sie verdankt ihre Entstehung einer zweckgebundenen Schenkung der Arnold Corti-Stamm-Stiftung. Das Institut für Biomedizinische Ethik wurde im Jahr 2006 gegründet. Weitere Informationen zur Ethik in Forschung und Lehre finden sich auf den Websites der Trägerinstitutionen des Ethik-Zentrums.